Sikhi: Duties & Vices

Duties, God, Life, Religion, Sikh, Sikhi, Sikhism, Vices

Sikhi teaches us that we should aim to be the best person we can and reach the purest heart possible to become one with Waheguru Ji (God). As a child, going to the Gurdwara (Sikh temple) with my late nani (grandmother), I never understood even the simplest principles of the religion I was brought up to follow, but that didn’t stop me from feeling comforted by the sounds and words of the Guru Granth Sahib Ji, Now, almost 18 I take it upon myself to learn new things. Sikhi guides us into leading the purest life possible and bases it upon three main duties:

Naam Japo – Pray and remember God all the time. Meditate upon Gods name.

Kirat Karo – Earn and honest living.

Vand Chako – Share your earnings and give to charity.

As a Sikh, we take into account that there are barriers that stop us from reaching Waheguru. These are the five vices, and we should avoid them to be free of bad:

Lust

Greed

Attachment

Anger

Pride

I will continue to share my knowledge with you all!

Love,

Samreece

3 thoughts on “Sikhi: Duties & Vices

  1. Sikhi is a sea of knowledge that can teach and guide an individual through life. I’m interested in how further your knowledge and understanding of Sikhism will develop and I hope to see more blogs on religion keep it up

    Like

Leave a Reply

